The Student Room Group

How do universities feel about IGCSEs?

I have found this:

http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?p=37214448&highlight=IGCSE

but it doesn't answer my question. Forgive me for making it look like a duplicate post! The above post bascially says to disregard your GCSEs somewhat because it is the A levels that count. I am not sitting them. I have my GCSEs and then I have a certificate in motor vehicle maintenance at level 2 and 3. The 3 only carries about 40 UCAS points and it is irrelevant to my subject. As of October I am studying two OU modules in science and biology - the chosen modules my university recommended I study. I scanned the entry requirements AGAIN and discovered something I missed - I need a GCSE in a science...

I have a DD in Applied Science. I rang admissions and I was told as I was studying science at degree level (OU modules) my GCSE would probably be obsolete (provided I pass them, but they go on previous grades to decide, I assume). I asked them if the DD would put me at a disadvantage and should I resit to get the advantage back. I was told I would be at no disadvantage but resitting would give me a 'strong' application. I can only do the GCSE long-distance - limiting me to IGCSEs. Do unis accept them as a GCSE equivalent?

It is a VERY competitive course and I need to get in at THIS uni. I cannot apply elsewhere.

Then again, another uni (not a reputable one) had no idea what OU modules were or what IGCSEs were.
I did my IGCSEs and had received 4 offers and 1 rejection (from Oxford :tongue:).

So yes, IGCSEs are accepted as an equivalent and you will face no issue in applying to a University with them.
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 2
There is no problem with IGCSEs - a lot of independent schools in the UK have their students take them instead of GCSEs. They'll be accepted as the same thing.