Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

first songs to learn on acoustic guitar?

Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hello
    I started playing guitar during 3rd year at high school, but due to instrumental switches dropped it during the int2 course. Now I wish to pick it up again at the end of this exam year, once my highers are done. Can anyone recommend a few good indie tracks which are simple enough for me to start with- then some to progress on to?
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Well done for picking it up again! Reminds me to do the same

There's a few simple things I enjoyed playing but it really depends on your taste.

You should try out Sigh No More by Mumford & Sons and also House of The Rising Sun by The Animals. I'm not really sure what your taste is but they're nice and simple songs to give a go. If you prefer poppy stuff, I know that songs by people like Justin Bieber and Lady Gaga are normally fairly easy to acoustically play!
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    "Into Dust" by Mazzy Star was one of my first ones, as well as various pop songs and a couple of Red Hot Chilis (though their songs can be quite hard). I'd recommend finding a site with various free guitar sheet music and just seeing what jumps out at you - it's a matter of personal taste, really.
    • 5 followers

ReputationRep:
    I think it's best to learn a song that you like. Just search 'song x chords' on google and just work from there.
    It's much easier to learn a song you know already off by heart than learning a new one
    • 11 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by holdencauliflower)
    Hello