Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to have your say on this topicNew here? Join for free to post

Medieval Town (3d Computer graphics)

Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I have taken a gap year and have plenty of free time, I am preparing myself for university, working as a touring guide, hanging out, playing the guitar, and creating a medieval town.

I have modelled just a glazier's shop and started a Merchant's GuildHall so far, and would like to show some pictures to you, just to have some feedbacks

This would be a XIV century Glazier's Shop. I have read some books but I'm not an expert nor a medievalist (yet ha ha) so please correct my errors and inaccuracies (which I fear to be more than a few).

First of all, why did I choose to model a glazier's house and shop? Mainly because I wanted to model something not yet available on the internet, while you can find plenty of blacksmiths and quite a number of carpenters, there are not (or at least I haven't found) any 3d models concerning a Glazier. Secondly, because I wanted my model to be as complete as possible, and thought then that a glazier house would be quite rich but still different to a manorial house.

Ok, glaziers were among the richest craftsmen, because their skills were required by the church, lords, and rich merchants to create windows and other precious glass items such as bottles, goblets, alembics and so on. Thus, a glazier could afford to live in his private house (without sharing it with other people) which served as shop/laboratory/kitchen (sometimes) in the basement and as living/bed room on the upper floor(s) (if including the garrett).