The Student Room Group

Torn between Psychology & Law?

Hey,

I was hoping for some advice - basically I have two possible uni courses I'm considering applying to, Law & Psychology, and I am completely torn as to which one I'd prefer to study!

I'm studying French, Biology, English Literature and Dance (dropping at AS).
My AS predictions are AAAA and if I achieve those my A2 predictions should be A*AA.

I know I haven't studied A level Psychology, will this put me at a huge disadvantage if I did decide to apply for it? I'm so passionate and fascinated by it, but I haven't got any pre-knowledge so I don't know if that would be a complete no-go :frown:

I have always just presumed I'd apply for Law, but now it's coming closer to applying I'm not sure if it is actually what I want to do. My family are moving to Australia when I finish Uni, and I will be joining them, so my Law degree from the UK would be pretty much useless over there and I'd have to convert it to fit Australian Law.

Apologies for the essay haha, I was just wondering how is Psychology as a degree & if anyone has been offered/studies it without having done A level Psychology?

Thank you!
I'm also torn between Law and Psychology :s-smilie:
I don't study Psychology, but I definitely think you're not disadvantaged if you don't have it to A-level. I only know specifics about Oxford, but they say it's 'highly recommended' to study one or more science/mathematics subjects, but not necessarily Psychology (some college websites even say they accept applicants with all humanities A-levels). So, I think with Bilogy you're fine. :smile: (You should check the websites of other unis though!)
Good luck!
Original post by soph-a-loaf
Hey,

I was hoping for some advice - basically I have two possible uni courses I'm considering applying to, Law & Psychology, and I am completely torn as to which one I'd prefer to study!

I'm studying French, Biology, English Literature and Dance (dropping at AS).