The Student Room Group

Drop out before or after exams?

For the past 3/4 months I have been thinking about leaving university.

I am studying Sociology at a Russel Group University. There are two main reasons why I want to:

1) Piss poor graduate employment afterwards. Looking at unistats the majority of the people on the course go straight into a Retail Assistant or Administation job which you dont require any degree for and could do now.

2) No passion or motivation for the course. All throughout school I always put every effort possible into work and have completed every uni assignment given to me with 2:1s however I just have no passion for the course.

I have serious doubts on my ability to pass these upcoming exams. The more I think about it the more I feel that I would rather drop out on my terms. I dont want an employer see my grades and see that i failed the year whilst I also say that I dropped out because I disliked it.

I have been offered a fulltime poltical researcher job which is very well paid and I am planning on starting an Open uni degree course in something ive always been passionate about.

Any ideas? Do I drop out before or after exams?
If you study hard and do well on the exams (which you should be able to if you're getting 2.1s) that might give you a self-confidence boost. It might make you feel better if you stay, but even if you don't stay you'd be leaving on a high and done well despite a crap situation.

On the other hand if you're definitely going to leave and don't have confidence issues maybe you'd be better off missing out on the stress of exams.
Original post by NGC773
For the past 3/4 months I have been thinking about leaving university.

I am studying Sociology at a Russel Group University. There are two main reasons why I want to: