Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Bunac 2012

Announcements Posted on
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hey I have a place with BUNAC's KAMP USA this summer and for one reason or another I don't want to go anymore.

I called them up maybe 1-2 weeks ago and told them and they basically said if I pull out now not only will I lose all the money I have paid so far but I will have to pay around £1000.

I think this is bs and is unfair, almost forcing me to remain in the programme since i'm a student and obviously don't have £1000 to throw away.

Has anyone experienced something similar, what can I do? Is there anyway I can cancel and not have to be mugged by BUNAC?
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    Now is the time to read the contract that you probably signed up to when BUNAC offered you the job. Have you got any grounds to cancel under the terms of the contract eg ill health?

If the terms of your having to pay a further £1000, if this is clearly set out in your contract and you signed it, unless the terms are legally unfair, you are probably on the hook for it. The fact that you are a student and finnancially challenged is unfortunately for you not BUNAC's problem. If you haven't signed a contract, you would be in a better position to refuse to pay.

You could try your Student Union for some assistance, they may have had students in this situation before.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep: