Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Sushi - will it survive a train journey??

Announcements Posted on
Complete this short survey for a chance to win an iPad mini! 22-09-2014
Got a question about Student Finance? Ask the experts this week on TSR! 14-09-2014
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    Ok so basically the clue's in the title, I'm trying to make my soy-allergy-suffering boyfriend soy free sushi for his birthday. Only trouble is, we live in different counties so it'd have to travel.
    Everything I've read says that freezing/chilling sushi is a bad idea but I was wondering if there was any way I could take it on 2 trains and a tube without ruining it?
    • 3 followers

ReputationRep:
    Doesn't sound like the greatest idea but I'm no expert. Can you not make it at his, and teach him how as well, like a sushi masterclass?
    • 34 followers

ReputationRep:
    Put it in tupperware, keep it upright and it'll be fine - I've done it myself with no ill effects, even transporting some soy sauce in a water bottle!

And yes - freezing sushi is a spectacularly bad idea (the grandparents did this once - and defrosted it in the microwave afterwards!)
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Depends. If it contains raw fish then I wouldn't try. Raw meat and fish spoil extremely quickly especially if it's warm, like in your bag. Food poisoning is NOT fun.
    • 29 followers

ReputationRep:
    Well, that very much depends on what would constitute 'survival': if you mean, "Will it spoil?" Then my answer would be, "Yes, quite possibly"; if you mean, "Can I repatriate it to the briny depths?" Then alas, I fear that particular ship may already have sailed.
    • 21 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Da CorrupteD KiD)