Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Is yoga really a good form of exercise?

Announcements Posted on
We're up for a Webby! Vote TSR to help us win. 10-04-2014
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    I'm already in reasonably good shape so I'm not too concerned about this personally but a lot of my friends have started doing yoga classes and gotten into good shape quite quickly, and you often read in women's magazines about Victoria's Secret models and celebrities and so on doing yoga and pilates and stuff like that to get their figures.

So to those who have done yoga, is it actually a good way to get in shape? (I have no experience with it so thought I'd ask)
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Yoga is good for improving flexibility, but you don't burn a huge amount of calories doing it. If you're purely looking to get into shape then there are other exercises that would be much more effective.
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    Adam Levine claims he got the kind of body he has by doing a certain type of yoga a lot. You should check it out if you're interested.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I did yoga and I certainly didn't notice any very quick results, but it's a nice, relaxing form of exercise. One thing my yoga teacher did say was that through doing it for a long time, her ribcage grew bigger because of all the deep breathing. So it might expand your back/ribs, but otherwise it'll keep you in good shape
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    No, it is ****ing pathetic
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by McHumpy92)
    No, it is ****ing pathetic
    Pretty much this.

Sure it'll make you more flexible and stuff but essentially load free training is pretty pointless when compared to other forms of exercise. Namely, heavy weight training and sprinting.
    • 5 followers

ReputationRep: