Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I am a new writer

Announcements Posted on
    • 1 follower

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I've been writing stories for quite a while now and poems. Therefore I will send some poems of mine and see how you like it. Please be advised they are written freehand.

Here is a poem based on Roots.

So to begin with
    We work
    We labour
    We live

We get nothing
    We eat nothing
    We have nothing.

We are disadvantaged
    Our white masters don't like us
    We are hated
    We were once
    Great people
    In the lands of gold
    In the lands of Lions
    In the lands of the wildebeest
    In the Lands of Africa
    In the lands of the Nile
    We ruled
    Supreme , overlord of all the animals
    Then the whites came to Africa
    And drove us from there
    Banishing us from our sacred places of worship.
    Destroying the pieces of paradise that once lay
    That once provided sweet nectar running down the hills.
    Bananas that provided plentiful, fruits blossoming
    from the vibrant colours of the jungle
    A sea of green and blue
    was this paradise.
    Animals, like us were herded like cattle and put on for people’s pleasures
    They laughed at us.
    They humiliated us
    They did not treat us well!
    With false promises they bounded us!
    And the great lands of our country
    Were soon populated by the whites
    Many of them came
    And we were driven
    Away from our homelands
    Forever
    Yet I can only remember what we did
    Yet, we go home
    We worked
    for the tribe
    We gathered
    food for the tribe
    We protected
    for the tribe
    We went to war
    for the tribe
    We mated
    to populate the tribe
    Why then, are we not allowed to live among the whites?
    Why then, do they come in their big boats?