Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Crippling depression and anxiety

Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014

I have been suffering from anxiety and depression for most of my conscious life. Since starting university last year, they have become gradually more and more severe.

I am studying at a top 10 university and I have just finished my first year, somehow pulling off a high 2.1. However, I have absolutely no motivation to study or accomplish anything and instead resign to wasting away in my room. Even basic everyday tasks are a struggle - I constantly oversleep and have difficulties getting out of bed, cooking or even keeping my room tidy. Last week I almost missed one of my exams at 2pm because I was feeling physically unable to leave my bed. Nothing really matters to me and even though I feel horrible about essentially wasting the effort and money that my family put into my education, I just can't seem to force myself to go out and get anything done. I'm feeling completely worthless, empty and have trouble functioning. I've been more or less apathetic for as long as I can remember, but the older I get, the worse it seems to become. I dread graduation in two years and I don't believe that I'm capable of transitioning into the working life; I doubt I could even hold down a simple shelf-stacking job.