MyTechGuy
Computing and PC help and advice, programming, games, digital audio, mobile phones and electronic miscellanea.
| Announcements | Posted on | |
|---|---|---|
| Please change your TSR password | 23-05-2013 | |
| Enter our travel-writing competition for the chance to win a Nikon 1 J3 camera | 20-05-2013 | |
-
MyTechGuy
bad experience

My ps3 had problems, so i sent my ps3 to this company, everything was going ok they've done diagnosis and all until they sent me message saying that I needed to pay extra for parts?! total cost of parts 69 pounds!
Now i was not willing to pay since i can just buy a second hand ps3 off gumtree for less than 80 pound and add to the fact that I've already paid 39 pound to them which they've clearly stated on their website ' We repair any fault' for 39 pound
so i requested cancellation which they accepted but won't refund me the 39 pound I paid! 
very dodgy company, avoid at all cost! they appear legitimate and are but hide all the details in the terms and conditions! so lost 39 pound for nothing
they've done **** all but perform diagnostic and have the audacity to ask for more cash to cover further repairs!
http://www.mytechguyabc.co.uk/consolerepair/Last edited by TobeTheHero; 11-06-2012 at 15:43. -
Re: MyTechGuyyeah, but I find the extra charges unreasonable considering they didn't tell me about it initially(Original post by mikeyd85)
What's wrong with that?
They're repairing it for £39. They're charging you more for the parts, obviously. That's standard practice amongst 100% of repair companies...
now they asked whether to proceed or cancel the repair and i chose cancel, so i expected to get the money i paid originally back from them
but no
they have done nothing with the ps3, apart from performing diagnostic which can't be 39 pound surely
i suppose this is a bad case of misinformation on their part
they seriosuly need to update their website because it is nothing more than marketing ploy and robbery.
Last edited by TobeTheHero; 11-06-2012 at 17:55. -
Re: MyTechGuy[EDIT] I'm finding their URI quite amusing... you trusted a company that couldn't get the domain they wanted, so they bought a similar one and stuck "abc" on the end to make it unique. They sound about as legitimate as some of the bogus sites that I deal with on a day to day basis. I'm surprised that it's not a .biz domain.(Original post by TobeTheHero)
What can I do?
As for their scam, their website is pretty misleading, but it does say in the T&C that replacement parts are not included:
It's a bit sneaky - you could try Trading Standards.For My Tech Guy™ to complete some repairs, internal access to device(s) components may be required. This will invalidate any manufacturers warranties and destroy any manufacturer’s warranty seal. Performance Booster and fixed service prices exclude cost of parts which if required will be detailed in your diagnosis update. Your right to our NO Fix NO Fee policy and Customer Cancellation policy applies.Last edited by Mad Vlad; 11-06-2012 at 20:03. -
Re: MyTechGuyi thought it was too good to be true, I should have trusted my instinct(Original post by Mad Vlad)
[EDIT] I'm finding their URI quite amusing... you trusted a company that couldn't get the domain they wanted, so they bought a similar one and stuck "abc" on the end to make it unique. They sound about as legitimate as some of the bogus sites that I deal with on a day to day basis. I'm surprised that it's not a .biz domain.
As for their scam, their website is pretty misleading, but it does say in the T&C that replacement parts are not included:
It's a bit sneaky - you could try Trading Standards.
-
Re: MyTechGuyYou should have read the terms and conditions.(Original post by TobeTheHero)
i thought it was too good to be true, I should have trusted my instinct
-
Re: MyTechGuyBecause people grumble about them but don't report them. I'm dubious of a site which claims its head office is in Lancashire, but the domain's WHOIS info says it's registered to an Anonymous registrant in Northants.(Original post by TobeTheHero)
glad i am not the only person who has a problem with them
it is a scam.
i don't understand why these companies are allowed to exist? clearly a fraud.
[EDIT] It's not even a registered limited company. The site gives the impression of a slick professional outfit, but it's a pretty small business with a few employees according to my research. The good news is that it's not a complete fly-by-night. The company has been around for nearly 3 years, which correlates with its initial registration date, and providing that the registrant of the domain is the owner of the business, he's not on the Disqualified Directors list.Code:Domain name: mytechguyabc.co.uk Registrant: Andrew Dayman Trading as: 2677225 Registrant type: UK Individual Registrant's address: Unknown Northampton Unknown NN3 9UN United Kingdom Registrar: Register.com Inc t/a British Telecom [Tag = BTNAMES] URL: http://www.btconnect.com Relevant dates: Registered on: 03-Aug-2009 Expiry date: 03-Aug-2013 Last updated: 01-Sep-2011 Registration status: Registered until expiry date. Name servers: dns1.register.com dns2.register.com WHOIS lookup made at 14
00 12-Jun-2012
Network Whois record
Queried whois.arin.net with "n 209.235.144.9"...
NetRange: 209.235.128.0 - 209.235.159.255
CIDR: 209.235.128.0/19
OriginAS:
NetName: MEGA-6
NetHandle: NET-209-235-128-0-1
Parent: NET-209-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
RegDate: 2006-09-28
Updated: 2012-02-24
Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-209-235-128-0-1
OrgName: InternetNamesForBusiness.com
OrgId: INFB
Address: 110 East Broward Blvd
Address: Suite 1650
City: Fort Lauderdale
StateProv: FL
PostalCode: 33301
Country: US
RegDate:
Updated: 2011-10-19
Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/org/INFB
OrgAbuseHandle: ZI51-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: InternetNamesForBusiness
OrgAbusePhone: +1-800-322-9438
OrgAbuseEmail: admin@internetnamesforbusiness.com
OrgAbuseRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/ZI51-ARIN
OrgTechHandle: ZI51-ARIN
OrgTechName: InternetNamesForBusiness
OrgTechPhone: +1-800-322-9438
OrgTechEmail: admin@internetnamesforbusiness.com
OrgTechRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/ZI51-ARIN
RTechHandle: ZI51-ARIN
RTechName: InternetNamesForBusiness
RTechPhone: +1-800-322-9438
RTechEmail: admin@internetnamesforbusiness.com
RTechRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/ZI51-ARINLast edited by Mad Vlad; 12-06-2012 at 15:07. -
Re: MyTechGuy
It appears that the website is misleading as the only mention of an additional charge for parts is hidden away inside the terms and conditions. You could report them to your local TSO and the ASA. They seem to offer a genuine cancellation policy however, so you should be able to get your console back without having to pay the £39 fee.
Good luck, keep us informed of how you get on! -
Re: MyTechGuyI got the console back, but not the 39 pound, unfortunately(Original post by studiousgeek)
It appears that the website is misleading as the only mention of an additional charge for parts is hidden away inside the terms and conditions. You could report them to your local TSO and the ASA. They seem to offer a genuine cancellation policy however, so you should be able to get your console back without having to pay the £39 fee.
Good luck, keep us informed of how you get on!
-
Re: MyTechGuy(Original post by Mad Vlad)
[EDIT] I'm finding their URI quite amusing... you trusted a company that couldn't get the domain they wanted, so they bought a similar one and stuck "abc" on the end to make it unique.
The exact thing I saw when I first saw the URL.

now they asked whether to proceed or cancel the repair and i chose cancel, so i expected to get the money i paid originally back from them
it is a scam.