Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Dispute with company/shop and Small Claim

Announcements Posted on
Applying to uni this year? Check out our new personal statement advice hub 28-11-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hi its my first time at TSR, I registered here because I'm in some trouble recently. I owe a small company/shop a sum of less than £100. Tbh, they have been dishonest in promising one thing verbally and doing a different thing altogether, and the sum of money they claim I owe them is inflated. There is a written contract between me and the company. Legally, I think it will be a grey area and perhaps disadvantageous to me (lacking direct evidence). And, I know its my fault for trusting them and not checking thoroughly. :mad:

Without going into specific details yet, I wish to ask if I refuse to pay, and the company files a small claim against me, would it be for the sum that I supposedly owe them, or would it be for even more money? If I choose to not contest the claim, and pay out, will I still get a record/black mark against me?

I am considering just paying the money (which my frens have said is a ripoff/scam), only paying if they file a small claim (would I have to pay more than what I currently 'owe' them?), or contesting the small claim (in which case, would I get a record or black mark against me if I lose the case?).

Would really appreciate which action I should take. I would feel unjust if I had to pay, but I'm not sure of the kind of trouble I might end up in if I choose to refuse.

Thanks!!
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Just dont pay it if the debt collector comes to you're door dont tell them you're name that way they cant anything,if the company wants to take the piss you should take the piss back show them whos boss
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep: