Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Any advice would be appreciated..

This thread is sponsored by:
Announcements Posted on
Live webchat: Student Finance explained - on TSR from 2 - 3pm 17-09-2014
Got a question about Student Finance? Ask the experts this week on TSR! 14-09-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hello all,

In need of some advice please.

I graduated in 2001 (BA), which I used a student loan for (the days when fees were reasonable). I am wanting to study again, however I can not afford the tuition fees now (like most). I have seen a foundation degree (2 years) at Huddersfield Uni, which I would like to do. I just wondered if I was eligible for an extension on my student loan? Has anyone else done this? I have tried to get through to the SLC for advice, but its like trying to contact the pope. It seems the policies change year to year. Any advice on funding or student loans would be appreciated.

Thanks

Chris
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    You've already done an undergrad, and want to do another? Maybe you should look into doing a post-grad degree, may be more beneficial!
    • 15 followers

ReputationRep:
    As far as im aware once youve used up your student loan thats it you cant get another one unless you have a very friendly local bank who're willing to put up the cash for it.. as kaneboy said it'd probably be more beneficial [and cheaper!] to do a post grad
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    Youre only allowed a student loan for one undergrad course, and i think you're then allowed it for one postgrad, depending on the actual postgrad.

This is the impression i got though... I may or may not be right.
    • 21 followers

ReputationRep:
    I was told you can't get any loans for post-grad at all (elldeegee).