Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

HR how to get in?

Announcements Posted on
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hi there, I have made a few threads here now and again but I was wondering if anyone knew what is the best way to get into HR without a CIPD certificate? (I wouldn't mind studying for one part time whilst I work at a company I have a 2:1 degree already in Soc/Crim)
    • 25 followers

ReputationRep:
    From my experience at two different companies, both with a large amount of employees and operating all over the world, people in HR are predominantly school leavers with the odd person who did business studies at the local university.
    • 29 followers

ReputationRep:
    So..many...acronyms and abbreviations :lolwut:
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    I would look for HR Assistant or similar role in a 'big' company. Chances are you won't need a CIPD qualification (although it's useful to have obviously), and they will pay for you to study for one whilst you work (in my experience albeit in your own time). The work I would think you will be doing at this level whilst studying will be very admin based but you'll get exposure to - and experience of - bigger things just by being in a HR department.
    • 11 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Smack)
    From my experience at two different companies, both with a large amount of employees and operating all over the world, people in HR are predominantly school leavers with the odd person who did business studies at the local university.
    Someone doesn't like HR eh?

There are plenty of HR grad schemes with big companies that'll provide training for all the qualifications you need.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Cool cool, some interesting replies. I don't mind doing an internship but it's hard to find that one company that'll take me on.
    • 7 followers