(Original post by SciFiRory)
pretty sure it's if you set a faster time...that's what they were saying on TV anyway...
That's what they base it on but what if you set a really slow banker lap, and then do a flying lap but back off enough in the final sector to slow, but cross the line still being much faster than your slow banker lap. They can only compare apples to apples. Provided conditions stay the same, a faster sector time shows you didn't lift enough, however if conditions are always changing, a faster sector time cannot confirm you didn't slow down enough. Teams have enough telemitary (or however it's spelt) to show and prove whether the driver lifted or not.
I could be wrong, but that's my take on the rules.
Section from FIA rules 4.1.2 on yellow flags:
- Single waved: Reduce your speed, do not overtake and be prepared to change direction. There is a hazard beside or partly on the track.
That's all it says. So if you can prove you reduced your speed, did not overtake, or did any other avoiding action, you'll be safe.