The Student Room Group

module choice next year (old english?)

basically, i'm leaning towards taking old english next year as a module; the other choices are something like the european novel, the carribean novel (?!) or other things which aren't interesting enough to remember.

i've never done old english before (well, have looked at poems but never studied large chunks of it for long periods), let alone a great deal of middle english. i've never studied any german but i'm slightly linguistic (a level french and latin, though the latter might not help at all). is it as bad as they make it sound?
Reply 1
silence
basically, i'm leaning towards taking old english next year as a module; the other choices are something like the european novel, the carribean novel (?!) or other things which aren't interesting enough to remember.

i've never done old english before (well, have looked at poems but never studied large chunks of it for long periods), let alone a great deal of middle english. i've never studied any german but i'm slightly linguistic (a level french and latin, though the latter might not help at all). is it as bad as they make it sound?

The Latin A Level certainly isn't useless. Though not as uber-helpful as German when it comes to vocabulary issues, it stands you in very good stead for studying the grammar (depending on the literature vs. language balance of the course, knowledge of grammatical constructs will be more or less useful).

We don't know enough about Old English to be able to come up with entirely authoritative translations (unlike, e.g., French), but this means that much of OE study is to do with problems in translation/general themes etc. Middle English doesn't really help an awful lot (though obviously there *are* continuities/near-continuities), so you're not particularly disadvantaged there.

is it as bad as they make it sound?