Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Hall of residence or shared house???

Announcements Posted on
Are you at uni? Can you help prospective students with their questions? We're looking for uni forum assistants 19-11-2014
    • 5 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I have a hard question here and I really need your help, guys. I'm an international student and this is my first year at Oxford Brookes. I've never been abroad before so I'm really worried.

I was offered to stay in Crescent hall which is quite good and cheap in comparison with other bloody expensive halls in Oxford.

Size: single bedroom, 2.35 x 3.65
    Room facilities:Bed-base and mattress, mattress protector, desk and desk chair, reading lamp, wardrobe and curtains. Pinboards for posters. Handbasin.
    Price : £97.48 per week for 38 weeks. The price includes utility costs, internet access, bus pass and basic possessions insurance.

But later I found a house shared with other 4 students, which is also great.
    It has 5 double bedrooms, 2 reception rooms, well equipped kitchen, newly fitted bathroom and separate shower room and large rear garden with patio and 2 off street parking spaces. Rent is 340 pm, bills exclusive but since I'll share will more 4 tenants so the rent is estimated around 400pm maximum. Not to mention that the house is quite spacious and closer to the university (about 10min walk)

Which one should I choose? I'm really confused.:confused: I'd really appreciate if anyone here can share their experience when staying in hall.

Thank you guys.
    • 36 followers

ReputationRep:
    Halls.

Shared houses will work out more expensive, because
    - you're paying for 52 weeks, not 38.
    - bills, insurance and bus pass aren't included
    - you have to pay a deposit (often £3-400, which you may or may not get back)
    - agents fees (sometimes)