Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Gaining experience whilst keeping a full-time job?

Announcements Posted on
Applying to Uni? Let Universities come to you. Click here to get your perfect place 20-10-2014
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm new to this forum so if I'm doing anything wrong I apologise!
    I graduated in 2011 and then started full-time work in a non-degree related job because I couldn't figure out what I wanted to do. I've now realised I want to become a primary school teacher and I've looked so much in to it and the universities I'd like to attend expect a minimum of 15 days (with 5 of those being consecutive) or 150 hours classroom experience. This doesn't really seem like a lot if you can get it but how am I supposed to get that much experience when I have a full-time job already?
    Has anyone else managed to juggle the two? Is it possible?
    I work Monday-Friday as there is no option for weekend work and usually finish at 3pm. Will this be a case of having to use up 15 days annual leave or just leaving my job all together (which is not an option!)
    I guess I'm just asking for advice if you've been in a similar situation..
    Thank you!
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    Unfortunately it pretty much means 15 days of annual leave!
    • 2 followers

ReputationRep:
    is there a way of having later shifts? you could always do experience for an hour a day somewhere if you can get your hours adjusted. However, your boss may not be happy for the reasons you'd have to give due to the fact it means you'll eventually be leaving lol.

You could mention taking hours out of the day and then working extra hours to make up for it?