Results are out! Find what you need...fast. Get quick advice or join the chat
Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Foundation Year for Entry

Announcements Posted on
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Okay so I'm going to try and say this as clearly as I can since I'm not very good at explaining!

I'm currently studying Art, English Literature and ICT in South Wales (just finished my AS year) and I want to apply for Liverpool John Moores Uni.

I've been told I wouldn't be able to get onto the course without a Foundation Degree in Art & Design which sadly my college nor LMJU can accommodate me with. My questions are:

• Am I able to take a foundation degree alongside my A Levels this coming September? - Perhaps online or my college can give me a crash course for their 2 year BTEC.
    • If I cannot, do I apply to the University for the Foundation Degree or will I have to apply to Liverpool Community College (I think they do it) and then apply for LJMU in 2014?

Thanks for any help!

Adam
    • 5 followers

ReputationRep:
    A Foundation degree is basically the first two years of a three year bachelors degree, it's a level 5 qualification equivalent to the HND. You can't do it at the same time as A levels which are level 3.
    You might be confusing it with the foundation year which is a one year course taken before starting a degree.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Joinedup)
    A Foundation degree is basically the first two years of a three year bachelors degree, it's a level 5 qualification equivalent to the HND. You can't do it at the same time as A levels which are level 3.
    You might be confusing it with the foundation year which is a one year course taken before starting a degree.
    Thanks for your quick reply. It does seem as though I'm getting confused with the two, this was some of the email I received from LMJU:

"To answer your questions: