The Student Room Group

Mpharm vs. Pharm.d

I'm a student that will begin studying the pharmacy course at UCL to achieve the mpharm degree. I know that then to be able to obtain the pharmaceutical liscense one would need to enroll into a one year pre-registration training and then pass a state exam.

However, I'm considering about taking a pharm.d degree once I have obtained my Mpharm degree but I'm not sure what are the differences are between the two degrees. Would I be at a disadvantage if I just have a Mpharm degree? Would it be better to have a pharm.d degree? Is there a difference between the job descriptions if a pharmacist has just an Mpharm with one that has both degrees?

Any help would be much appreciated thanks :smile:
Reply 1
Isn't the Pharm.D the American version of the MPharm? I mean, isn't that what you would do if you lived in the U.S. and wanted to be a pharmacist there?

Where do you plan on working as a pharmacist? If it is in the UK then the MPharm is the one you want.
UK - MPharm
USA - PharmD

Different countries... different course to become a pharmacist. With either one, you can move to another country and just do a conversion course/pass state exams to register there. Not sure how long it takes to do a conversion from USA to UK (not long I'd imagine knowing our immigration policies...) but I believe it takes 2 years to convert from UK to USA. Why waste money doing an PharmD after your MPharm when you can just convert and spend like 1/5th of the money? You'll end up learning the same stuff..
Reply 3
Original post by jami74
Isn't the Pharm.D the American version of the MPharm? I mean, isn't that what you would do if you lived in the U.S. and wanted to be a pharmacist there?

Where do you plan on working as a pharmacist? If it is in the UK then the MPharm is the one you want.