The Student Room Group

Help an American student choose a UK University??

Hi all! I am an American student (in high school), and I have been looking into studying abroad (in the UK) for quite sometime, and although I have found lots of helpful information online about some universities, I lack the benefit of "word of mouth" knowledge/info. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on some good colleges/universities that the UK has to offer? I am looking for a moderately-challenging school (harder than a "party school", but not exactly a Harvard or Oxbridge). I get decent grades; good not great. So far the universities that I have come across (via google) are:
St. Andrews, UCL, Warwick, Lancaster, York, Edinburgh, Southampton, Aberdeen, Essex.
Could you give me info/thoughts on those schools, as well as other suggestions?? I have been focusing on London and Scotland.
Thanks!!!
Original post by student122
Hi all! I am an American student (in high school), and I have been looking into studying abroad (in the UK) for quite sometime, and although I have found lots of helpful information online about some universities, I lack the benefit of "word of mouth" knowledge/info. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on some good colleges/universities that the UK has to offer? I am looking for a moderately-challenging school (harder than a "party school", but not exactly a Harvard or Oxbridge). I get decent grades; good not great. So far the universities that I have come across (via google) are:
St. Andrews, UCL, Warwick, Lancaster, York, Edinburgh, Southampton, Aberdeen, Essex.
Could you give me info/thoughts on those schools, as well as other suggestions?? I have been focusing on London and Scotland.
Thanks!!!

To read what?
Reply 2
I know that St Andrews is very popular with Americans. A lot of my American friends went there.