The Student Room Group

English PhD/DPhil research proposal

Hi all,

I'll be submitting an application for a PhD/DPhil in English for the 2013 entry, and wanted to ask if anyone had advice on writing a good, solid research proposal for the likes of Oxford or Cambridge. I have a first class undergraduate degree in English Literature, plus I've also had conference papers accepted and recently had a piece selected for publication in a print journal. I'm also on the editorial board for an online graduate journal, and will be co-organising an academic conference next year.

But despite the above it nevertheless seems that admission understandably hangs on a great research proposal. As my MA (2012-2013) is a taught program, I've had no experience of writing something like this before.

Is anyone currently on a PhD/DPhil in English at Oxford, Cambridge or elsewhere? If so, do you have any advice on what makes a 'good' research proposal? Oh--as my name suggests--my field (broadly speaking) will be Anglo-Saxon literature and culture.

Thank you in advance for any help offered!
The advice I got from the woman who is now my research supervisor at a top Russell Group Uni (yes, I got in!) was this:

1. Why this subject/area/project/idea?
2. Why this University/Dept?
3. Why me?

Address all three of those questions in a calm, rational way. Make the proposal flow in a logical sequence, but break it up into these three specific areas.

Remember, academic staff are busy people. They dont want to read your life story or anything so dense and complicated they loose interest half-way through. Make it easy for them to pick out the info they want to see. Use bullet points. Use short paragraphs. Make it tight, succinct and relevant.

Good Luck!
Reply 2
Thanks--do you not have to go in-depth with your proposed PhD work, though?