The Student Room Group

PLEASE READ is 3A*'s 2A's 3B's 2C's and 4A's at AS good enough

Is 3A*'s 2A's 3B's 2C's(GCSE) and 4A's(AS) good enough for applying to Bristol, UCL, Warwick and Nottingham for a degree in
Economics and mathematics BSc. Considering i got an A* at GCSE mathematics at the end of year 10. And also since i am studying:

Further Mathematics
Mathematics
Physics
Economics

Opinions please

PS If anyone got accepted on these courses would you please tell me what your were grades were at GCSE and AS.

Scroll to see replies

You have really strong AS subjects and all As so thats good.

You might struggle with UCL because of your GCSEs.

Just make sure your PS is spectacular and you have really good reference and you should have a good shot at most of those.

(COME ON ARSENAL!!!)
Reply 2
The only university that would reject you straight off for those grades is LSE. As has been said, with UCL you may struggle, as they go quite hard on GCSEs, but for the others they wouldn't be particularly bad GCSEs. Plus having strong AS subjects and grades helps a lot.

I got accepted for Warwick and Nottingham's Maths and Econ (well, MORSE at Warwick, but very similar). I have 3.5A*s, 6As, 1.5Bs and half a D at GCSE, and 5 As at AS level.
Reply 3
Drogue
The only university that would reject you straight off for those grades is LSE. As has been said, with UCL you may struggle, as they go quite hard on GCSEs, but for the others they wouldn't be particularly bad GCSEs. Plus having strong AS subjects and grades helps a lot.

I got accepted for Warwick and Nottingham's Maths and Econ (well, MORSE at Warwick, but very similar). I have 3.5A*s, 6As, 1.5Bs and half a D at GCSE, and 5 As at AS level.

Actually considering he's applying for Economics and Mathematics, he might not necessarily be rejected immediately by LSE. Were you?
Reply 4
Got an offer from Bristol with 1A*, 6As and 2Bs in my GCSEs and 4As at AS.
Reply 5
Knogle