The Student Room Group
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London

I'm going to apply for IR in LSE, anyone can give me some advice about safe result?:)

As mentioned on the title, I am a South Korean student willing to apply for International relationships in LSE.

Currently I'm studying AS in international school in Vietnam, and looking for helpful advice from experienced pupils of LSE :smile:

There are 4 questions I mainly want to ask about

Firstly, I've received 6A* 3A (Sending remark for geography for 88%...) and 1C (First language English.. I know, I'm taking I-ELTs to cover this) in last IGCSE results. I have been feeling that these grades are not sufficient to guarantee my successful application in LSE. So do I need more A*? - In other words, does IGCSE matters a lot for LSE application? Because I'm planning to take IGCSE Environmental studies and second language Japanese in next year may/june exam to add some more A* in my IGCSE results.

Secondly, I'm studying AS Biology, History, Geography, Economics and Thinking Skills. Is it going to be hugely disadvantageous if I do not take AS maths? - Unlike other Korean dudes, I'm not really good at maths. How sad.

Next, guess I will be applying LSE through UCAS after AS exam. How many As will be required to ensure my succession of application? Is 5A in AS including Thinking skill going to be their satisfactory level?

Finally, we are almost there! How competitive is the International Relationship department in LSE? Like how many vacancy are there in normal, and how many applicants apply for space in normal?

Thanks for answering in advance, and looking forward for really helpful advice from you guys :smile:
(edited 11 years ago)
Reply 1
Hi

First of all i think u mean International Relations is the subject you plan to apply for and not International Relationships