The Student Room Group

What choices are available?

Hello people,

I've just registered recently on TSR mainly because I have a little dilemma on my hands. Basically I'm aspiring to be a medical student, I'm currently studying my A2, however I can't apply to medical school this year as my grades weren't impressive, I underachieved with a B in Chemistry, Biology and Maths and an A in French. Now I have two questions at the same time;

1. With these subjects and grades where could I possibly apply and for what?
If I go to university next year, and find the course interesting I might stick to it and postpone medicine in my life.
(Nobody suggest London Met please :tongue:)
2. I'm considering a gap year to raise my grade in A2 and apply to medical school next year? Do you think this is a good step or otherwise? I'm planning to pass it doing voluntary work, I have a placement in two different hospitals at the moment, if I take a gap year, what else can I or should I do during that time? In other words, what opportunities are available to me during a gap year?
Thank you in advance, and thanks for taking your time to answer me.

Best regards,

John-2012

P.S>It is an urgent decision that I need to take as soon as possible, I would appreciate swift and precise help, and I apologise for being a bit fussy.
(edited 11 years ago)
Reply 1
Original post by John-2012
Hello people,

I've just registered recently on TSR mainly because I have a little dilemma on my hands. Basically I'm aspiring to be a medical student, I'm currently studying my A2, however I can't apply to medical school this year as my grades weren't impressive, I underachieved with a B in Chemistry, Biology and Maths and an A in French. Now I have two questions at the same time;

1. With these subjects and grades where could I possibly apply and for what?
If I go to university next year, and find the course interesting I might stick to it and postpone medicine in my life.
(Nobody suggest London Met please :tongue:)