The Student Room Group

Appealing a progress decision- please help me!

Hi, this is a really long story but I hope someone can read through it and give me some advice.

Basically, I did a year of uni back home (I'm an EU student) and then I decided I wanted to study in the UK so I applied and got an offer to study roughly the same subject. But the university didn't allow me to just transfer to second year, so I had to start first year again.
Throughout this year, I had a lot of problems with homesickness, finding friends on my course (I'm younger than my course mates), adjusting to a new city etc which I guess is normal. But by the end of first term, my grandmother passed away which was really hard for me because we were so close. I submitted the extenuating circumstances form and was allowed some extensions for my coursework.
However, I never really managed to get back on track again and started becoming quite depressed but I would just think it was because the death of my grandmother was still quite recent.
I had a hard time during the exams period, and after coming back home for the summer I got anti-depressants from my GP.
Because I failed four modules, I had to come back again during summer to resit them. However, I had some really bad anxiety attacks and nervous breakdowns during that period, and could barely eat, sleep or take care of myself. It was so bad that at some point I had suicidal thoughts, and that scared me because I didn't recognize myself.