The Student Room Group

Mathematics, Economics, Finance, Management, Statistics a combination or what?

Hi! :smile:
I am new here and I am a last year student in my school in Germany. In 2013 I would like to start studying in GB. Sadly, I am not yet sure what to study and that is why I would be happy to receive any help and advice from you.
I listed information about my interest and jobs I consider:

What I am good at

Mathematics

Quantiative Analysing/Thinking

Theoretical Intelligence

What I am bad at
· Practical Intelligence
· Creativity

What I am interest in
· Mathematics (with real world application - not for the fun off it :wink: )
· Statistics
· Quantitative Analysis
· Physics
· Economics
· Management and Business Studies
· Problem-Solving

Jobs(fields) I am interested in
· Consulting
· Finance
· Self-employment

(1) Maybe some of you got an advice for me what I should study in order to have opportunites to go into Finance or Consulting (I want to have both opportunities).

(2) In General I would like to know what I should study to get into Consulting (Management, Economics, Mathematics and then a MBA, Finance etc.)? What have consultants studied?

(3) I have the impression that in GB Economics is much more popular and renowed than Management (In Germany it is vice versa). Is my impression correct? Is it better to get a degree in Economics and maybe take a year of Management?

Thank's for any advice! :smile:
Reply 1
Hi there, I am starting university this year as a first year so take what I say with a pinch of salt, but I have a vague idea of how to answer your questions.