The Student Room Group

Need some advice. Not really sure what to do :(

Heyyy, I'm currently studying A-Levels at a local college (Got BCC in my AS levels but there's been some mistakes in marking in one of my subjects apparently, and will resit some papers so due to both of this my grades should hopefully go up!), hoping to go on to study Psychology at preferably Anglia Ruskin University at colchester. I live in Essex, so this is a local university. Wouldn't mind travelling to other places such as London.

Basically, I'm an extremely socially awkward person, who is not at all interested in things like drinking, drugs, clubbing, or being around loads of people all the time. The whole student life really doesn't appeal to me, so I feel like living there would make me feel down being around people that aren't like me, so I plan on commuting, if I do go to university at all. I wouldn't say I'm a geek, or a loner or anything like that as I was pretty popular in school, I'm just not the type of person who enjoys stuff like that.

I just don't know what to do :frown: is commuting a good idea? I can imagine meeting no friends or anyone to talk to there too, and would DREAD freshers week! No way would you find me going out clubbing.
Reply 1
Commuting is an option but despite the stereotypes, I don't think every person is going to be like that. There are several people on TSR who don't like drinking or clubbing and some people cannot drink alcohol for religious and/or health reasons. I am going to be a fresher from this Saturday so I cannot say for sure yet, however, there are people just like you.