The Student Room Group

Too old to be a nurse?

:smile:Hiya
?being of rather advanced years (45 - I know, I can't believe it myself!:biggrin:). I have become rather disenchanted with my current employment (T.A in a primary school); no opportunity for advancement.

Can anyone tell me how likely it would be for me to be accepted on a nursing degree course
?

I have a degree in Psychology and Counselling and a Diploma in Therapeutic counselling (Adults) and Counselling Children and Adolescents. I have worked voluntarily as a bereavement counsellor, and regularly take CPD courses related to my job. My work history is rather sketchy as I am a mother of 3 little darlings
:redface:.

trying to keep it short and sweet - Thankyou for any replies xxx lou
:smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Hi

I see no reason why you couldnt, A friend of mine started his nursing degree at 45 with only an access qualification, go for it, I am 32 and have 4 little ones and cant wait to start in a weeks time x
Reply 2
Yes, there are plenty of people over the age of 40 enrolled on my course :smile: it sounds like you have lots of interesting experience though it may be worth contacting the Universities you're interested in as they may want you to take an access course if you haven't been in education for a while.

Good luck :smile:
Reply 3
Original post by anna price
Hi

I see no reason why you couldnt, A friend of mine started his nursing degree at 45 with only an access qualification, go for it, I am 32 and have 4 little ones and cant wait to start in a weeks time x

I think I will give it a try, nothing ventured, nothing gained. thank you for the reply Good look with your studies xxx Lou:smile:
Reply 4
Original post by Soph.Jade