The Student Room Group

haunted by my past - want to return and prove to myself i'm capable!

Hi everyone,

Quite a different case here. I studied maths at oxford in the past and due to mental health issues I left after a year. Ever since I have felt somewhat dejected and am left with a feeling that i must prove myself and go back to oxford or cambridge and complete it this time.

I eventually ended up getting an undegrad science degree from a gd london uni and was wondering whether i could and indeed whether i should apply to go to either uni and do an affiliated degree? I read into it a bit and i don't think i'd be able to gain mature entry as i have a degree already, but would i be able to apply for and get in for something like maths or natural sciences? I still love maths and physics and enjoy doing step/MAT questions and occasionally look back at my old uni notes with intrigue. I feel i am a much stronger person mentally now and think i'd be able to cope better with the pressure.

What do you all think? P.S. i'd only do this once i've saved up enough money after working for a while before everyone jumps on the "stop wasting your parents money" bandwagon!

cheers,
Reply 1
What about just doing a master's degree in your science?

As you seem to be interested in this for the challenge, I know admissions isn't the same for undergraduate and graduate, but you did that part already. I'm sure of the many programmes you could pick something that would be just as stimulating as the maths course.
Reply 2
Sorry to hear about the health issues you had before :frown: I really hope you are better :biggrin:

personally I'd say go for it mate, you're obviously very intelligent and willing to have a proper second shot! What's the shame in wanting the best? But make sure you're comfortable with it, don't persuade yourself into doing what you know you're not comfy with. All the best! :biggrin:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
Original post by Dubstepp