The Student Room Group

Information Technology Management for Business

Is anyone planning on doing this course? Or maybe someone is already doing it? What are your opinions guys?
Reply 1
Original post by Erykwidday
Is anyone planning on doing this course? Or maybe someone is already doing it? What are your opinions guys?

Hello,

Firstly, a massive apology for taking so long to reply to you, I saw these thread a couple of weeks back but have just been too busy to type up the long and informative reply i'm sure you're after, (gives a good indication as to how much hard work the course is LOL).

As you've probably guessed, I study the 4 year placement option ITMB course at Loughborough University. I'm in my first year and have been on the course for exactly a month today! Loughborough wasn't my first choice, that was Exeter but unfortunately I didn't make the grades to get in. I absolutely love it here at Loughborough though, the course is very well delivered and i'm extremely pleased with the help and support i've recieved. Obviously, all of my experiences are going to be based on my time here but the course structure will be about the same at any of the 14 universities that offer it across the country.

The degree course is endorsed by e-skills UK who are the technology consultants to the Government. The degree was designed around the requirements of a number of big employers, not just IT firms, the likes of banks, supermarkets and airlines come to mind as comapnies who are involved in the degree. You can get a full list of the companies and the universities that offer the degree by searching e-skills UK on the net.

The course is primiarily a variation of a 'Computing and Management' degree, (it will likely be called something different at each university) but to get the endorsement by e-skills and the added benefits that come with that you need to be looking to study ITMB specifically at one of the 14 universities that offer the degree.