The Student Room Group

Apprenticeships that REQUIRE A-Levels?

Hello

I'm in my second year at college doing A-Levels in Business Studies, Media Studies and IT.
I'm predicted an A in all of them.
I'm going to apply for uni but I'm not really sure if I want to go and I don't have a particular career aspiration in mind so I was thinking of applying for an apprenticeship as well so I can decide later on etc.

Most of the apprenticeships I've looked at require either only GCSEs/equivalent or no qualifications and I'd rather find one that actually asks for A-Levels, otherwise it would seem a bit pointless working hard in my A-Levels if I don't even need them for an apprenticeship.

Does anyone know of any websites/companies etc. that offer apprenticeships where the entry requirements include A-Level qualifications?

Hello,

Firstly, and I think most importantly, your A-levels will never be a waste of time - the same as any qualification won't be. So to answer your question...

Basically, an Apprenticeship is a learning based job. You start at the very bottom and learn everything you need to during your allocated time (2-3 years is the normal for an advanced apprenticeship) and then go on to be qualified in your chosen subject with experience AND qualifications!

The need for A-levels and such are great to have, but not entirely asked for when starting as an apprentice.

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App
Depends what you want to do. I'd still study for A-levels unless you plan on doing a Higher Apprenticeship, in which case, you won't need to, and you can then study for a HNC/HND and eventually a full degree.

I'd finish them off with those grades, though. Your A-levels will always be there. You can try an Apprenticeship for a year or two afterwards then apply for University after the time out. I myself will be finishing an Apprenticeship come January/February time, then going to University in 2013. The experience is fantastic.
(edited 11 years ago)