The Student Room Group

Contract law.. Need help.. desperate..!

Hello,
I am a first year student and new to writing an essay or answering this type of question. Could you help me?? I have no idea how to start it or how to make a proper answer plan for it...!!

Paul is a keen fitness enthusiast and on 1 March, he joined his local fitness centre Toned Bellies Ltd. On 20 March, whilst visiting the gym, his attention was drawn to the noticeboard upon which a notice stated:

“Competition:

One year’s free membership is offered to any member who can swim 300 lengths of our pool before 1 April. In order to enter this competition, an entry card must be completed, verified by the manager and sent to our Head Office.”

Paul decided that he wanted to attempt to win a free year’s membership and embarked on the task on 24 March. Over the next 4 days he successfully completed the swim, actually completing more lengths than was necessary on the fourth day.

On 29 March, Paul then asked the manager of Toned Bellies, Ralph, if he would complete the card for him so that he can claim. Ralph agreed, but informed him that it “won’t do you any good as the offer was withdrawn yesterday.” Nevertheless Paul posted the card.

Seven days later, Paul received a letter from Toned Bellies Head Office stating that Paul did not qualify for the competition because:

1. The offer had been withdrawn on 28 March as per the notice placed on their website;

2. The number of lengths swum had to be continuous, and completed in one attempt;

3. He had not swum 300 lengths exactly, but had gone over the amount stipulated in the competition.

4. They received the entry card on 2 April and this was after the completion date of the competition.

Advise Paul.

(no more than 1000 words)
1) Start by discussing whether the notice constitutes an offer (you'd better find that it does or it will be a short question).