The Student Room Group

Why is finding work so gosh darn difficult?

I've been applying for jobs here, there and everywhere from the age of 17 and to this date (now 19, nearly 20) I've only ever managed to grab one interview, which was on the spot for bar work and even then I didn't get called again afterwards.

I was incredibly depressed from the time I left college at 17 and so it's been even more difficult, but I'm really motivated to find a job now until I can go back to college in September, although I don't specify this on my CV in case it puts anyone off. I've been applying for at least one job every day - sometimes up to about five if I can manage to find that many.

I got a callback for a sales job, but it was quite apparent that they were slimy buggers because they asked me to register as self employed, patently so that they didn't have to pay me minimum wage. I wouldn't have minded this really, but I have no sales experience and I have other commitments to think about, so if I sucked at it I'd be royally screwed.

I've handed in my CV to shops and supermarkets that I know accept them (sometimes), such as Aldi, ASDA, Sainsburys, Morrisons etc and I've done some voluntary retail work, so I have at least some experience in that area.

I'm at a point now where it seems impossible to find work and I don't know what to do.

Does anyone know of anywhere that I could apply for? If it helps I live in Preston, or rather just on the outskirts of it.

The only issue that I have is that I can't work weekends. Not because I'm lazy, but I see my girlfriend at the weekend and she lives 30 miles away. She helped me get through my depression and I know that if I had to make a compromise then I'd end up back in square one and never leave my house due to depression again.

:c

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by Geralt