The Student Room Group

BA vs. BSc

Are they really perceived as equal types of a degree or is one better than the other?

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App
Reply 1
It depends, my opinion is that Bsc is more technical so therefore better. However some may disagree with me. An example such as Economics, a Bsc is a much better qualification.
Reply 2
Ok. In addition to that, what do you think matters more, the degree or the institution?

E.g: Student with an Economics BA from Warwick and one with an Economics BSc from Reading.

Would the BSc still be as appealing in this case?

This was posted from The Student Room's iPhone/iPad App
Reply 3
I have no real experience but most probably the BA from Warwick
Reply 4
They are both first degrees and are therefore of equal value. Anyone who tells you anything else knows nothing of the academic world. They delineate more the focus of the subject matter covered on the course. What these people would make about first degrees that don't fit into the straight BA/BSc line up I shudder to think - in many subjects the first degree reflects the subject area, but they are all first degrees and therefore of equal value.
BSc (hons) vs. BA (baracus)

I know where my money's going.
I was having a chat with a friend today and he told me that he's applying to all BSc Psychology courses and not BA because he states that you cannot be a Psychologist with a BA degree as it is not scientific enough or accredited by the KPG or something.