The Student Room Group

Funding for EU student to pursue PhD

Hi guys,

I am an Italian student, I'm going to get my MSc. Material Science due March 2013.
I wanted to pursue a PhD in biomaterials/bioengineering in UK, and I was looking at Imperial or Cambridge.. Do you have any ideas about funding for an EU student? Can professor pay you a stipend? Because otherwise it is quite impossibile for a EU student to do a PhD in the UK, without any form of funding!!

Thanks =)
Reply 1
Original post by ouroboros88
Hi guys,

I am an Italian student, I'm going to get my MSc. Material Science due March 2013.
I wanted to pursue a PhD in biomaterials/bioengineering in UK, and I was looking at Imperial or Cambridge.. Do you have any ideas about funding for an EU student? Can professor pay you a stipend? Because otherwise it is quite impossibile for a EU student to do a PhD in the UK, without any form of funding!!

Thanks =)

How is there no form of funding?? You shouldn't be so dismissive if you haven't done your research properly :tongue: I can't speak about Imperial because I never applied there but I can say for sure that Cambridge has funding for EU students. Most of the times EU students are eligible for the same scholarships as British citizens although in some cases they receive less money than British citizens e.g. Research Council funding or the CHESS scholarships at Cambridge only cover tuition fees for EU students whereas they are full scholarships for British Nationals. However, most departments remedy that by making sure they offer maintenance grants to EU students who won fees only awards. There are also college research studentships, faculty awards, the Gates scholarship that is open to EU students (this is actually open for citizens of every country of the world apart from the UK). There are options available, you just need to search, prepare a good application and be a bit lucky.
Reply 2
Original post by ouroboros88