The Student Room Group

Working abroad after Uni

I am in my final year of my degree and I would really like to go abroad for anything for a year to a few years. Where shall i go looking if i want to get a job anywhere abroad? I am prepared to go pretty much anywhere apart from unstable places such as the middle east for example i have the savings to be able to afford Australia even. So yeah can anyone point me to a good place to look for any type of work like this? Cheers.
There are 'working holiday visa' schemes for countries such as Canada, New Zealand and Australia, where you pay a sum of money to get a visa, and can then live in that country for a fixed period (usually a year) and work in any job which will take you (sometimes with restrictions). This is the only realistic way of getting employment in those countries, alongside other schemes such as 'Camp America' where you work a summer in a camp with children.

With a degree, and presuming you are a native English speaker, you can also consider teaching English (in fact, even without a degree this is sometimes possible). You may well need to pay to get a teaching certificate (CELTA or Trinity TESOL are the most reputable) which may set you back around £1,000. You can then look for teaching jobs anywhere as advertised, but the vast majority of jobs are in East Asia (Korea, Japan, China and Taiwan). These countries pay the best salaries. There are also British Council opportunities to work as a language assistant in schools in many countries.

You have the right to work anywhere in the EU, the only limitations being experience and language skills.
Reply 2
As 'Standreams' said, you have a few options as to how you approach working and living abroad. However, TEFLs don't cost nearly as much as they stated. Go to this facebook page www.facebook.com/tefl120 and you can get a 120 hour online TEFL for just £99, through TEFL express. They also post jobs on their website.