The Student Room Group

Are my GCSE grade good enough for Durham/Oxford?

Hi guys :smile:
I'm currently studying Maths, Further Maths, Chemistry and Physics (also History, but that's an extra AS level) at college and would like to do a Chemical Engineering degree at either Durham or Oxford.

My GCSE grades are:
Maths- A*
Chemistry-A*
Physics-A*
Biology-A*
History-A*
English lit-A*
English Lang- A
Health and Social- AA
German- B
IT- Merit
I also got an A in Additional maths (FSMQ)

I'm aiming for all As this year (and A*s next year, in the 4 subjects) so I was just wondering how much getting a B and Merit at GCSE would impact the decision of the universities? I really want to go to Durham, it seems perfect! I just want to know if it's realistic.

Also, for chemical engineering should I maybe take up Biology next year just for the AS year? I will be dropping History either way but I would like to know if Biology would help me for Chemical engineering.

(edited 11 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I'm sorry, but there's no way... You need at LEAST 16A*s for a chance at Durham or Oxford.
I think you will be fine! After all, Oxford don't care about IT so getting a Merit really won't matter. The B in German is on the lower side but I know people who have been accepted with a B in a foreign language and he had to retake it twice, as long as he had it they didn't mind.
Just focus on your grades this year and get really good work experience and it will be fine :smile:
Durham of course and Oxford most likely so.

But you would have to achieve your as and A2 targets.
Reply 4
Lol my brother got into cambridge with 4 a's 3 b's and 2 c's graduated 2007, so im assuming yes, but my friend told me this week they upped their requierments to 10 a* im thinking its bs, anyway just continue with what your doing and make sure you can write a good personal statement (do volunteer work etc...), you should easily get into durham with 4 a* and a levels and those gcses
Reply 5