The Student Room Group
Medicine at Swansea University
Swansea University
Visit website

How's life at Swansea really?!

Hey,

So, sending off UCAS on Tuesday and one of my choices is Swansea! I've never been there before, and I haven't heard much about it (I know I can, it is definitely a popular uni but yes). How's life there? If you go there tell me about your time there, the feel you have of the place, are there goood socities? And, also is there a lot of international students ? I'd love to meet loads of international students:smile: Also, how's the accommodation? I'm not really one for clubbing, or going to the pubs..

Thanks, just general feedback from the place.
I love living in Swansea :smile: It's probably just like every other town, you got whatever you could wish for if you know where to look. Apart from the fact that when you step out of the front door the beach is driectly infront of you :smile: like about 90 seconds I'm not exaggerating. I studied there in the summer, accommodation was simple but you can make it your own, pretty much standard to what you'd expect but it depends where you are there are differences. In my block we had nice comfy beds, wardrobe, desk, chairs, sink, mirror, big window (i love a bright room). The social side is awesome I m not very social bur I was when I was there haha there was so much to do. We went to a gymnastics hall, laser zone, cinema, bowling, fancy dress parties, zumba classes, football, gym every day and I forget what else lol. Like you, I'm not one for clubbing and drinking non stop, which is nice because even though Wine Street is so popular and when you're there it's a good time, I probably only go every..actually no I can't remember the last time I went haha. It's a big strip of clubs and bars but it's only one long street so it's not spread out all over town like I imagine other towns to be. I'd rather chill for a few in a nice comfy chilled out pub or in the bar in the uni. And yes, there is a vaaaasst quan