The Student Room Group

Dropped out, depressed, in debt and broke :(

Basically i dropped out of uni last year. It was a resit year as I failed some of the modules the year previous however when i attempted to redo the year i became depressed and couldn't carry on with the course.
I didnt tell anyone, not even student finance because i was using the money to pay for rent etc and used to pretend to carry on going everyday because i didnt know what else to do.
I never thought about my student finance and thought i would have to pay it back when i was earning over £15k a year like if i graduated however i ended up with a letter at the end of the year saying they were informed about my drop out and i had to pay back the years finance asap

I arranged to pay £10 a month for 3 months hoping i could find a better job however i'm still stuck with my p/t sales assistant job that isnt paying much at all (i'm on a 4 hour a week contract and getting as much overtime as i can but it's still only just under £100 wages a month). I already have a phone bill debt to pay, another £400 student debt that i pay £10 a month on as well as trying to pay for food, bills and my student credit card+overdraft which i maxed out.

I had another letter saying i need to arrange payment Asap and i dont know what to do. The thought of ringing them again makes me feel sick because i cant afford to pay

I was looking at graduate loans and personal bank loans but i cant pay £100+ a month for any of them so i have no hope of getting one of them and wiping this debt.

I feel stuck and i dont know what to do. I live away from home and my family dont know anything.
Does anyone know i there are any loans or anything for this sort of situation?
Sorry for the rant, if anyone has any advice i would appreciate it.x
Reply 1