The Student Room Group

My report

I am fairly new to year 10 (started in September). My grades have dropped quite a lot. I am starting to struggle in subjects I have always excelled in. The highest level is 5. These are the results I got for my Autumn report:

DA Biology- Effort in Class=5 - Average grade=59%
DA Chemistry- Effort in Class=5 - Average grade= 72%
DA Physics - Effort in Class=5 - Average grade= 82%
English Lang - Effort in Class=4 - Average grade=87%
English Lit - Effort in Class=5 - Average grade= 90%
History - Effort in Class= 3 - Average grade = 68%
Maths - Effort in Class=4 - Average grade=58%

My parents think these are bad. I don't think they are great but what do you guys think? Also I am finding History and Biology quite hard, any tips? I am doing a lot better in maths now; I think my average grade could be 70-80% when I get my new report which will be in a few weeks.
Well, I wouldn't worry too much. You still have two years to bring any grades you're worried about up. I know it's hard but don't put unneccessary pressure on yourself. At the begining of year 10 I had a D in Spanish (yeah...) by the end I was at an A, on target to an A* for my GCSE. It took work, I probably focused most on Spanish to bring it up. So for history, it's a combo of knowledge & technique, you're probably falling down in technique, it's probably the more difficult one. 3 words. TALK TO TEACHER. They can advise you on how to improve, it can be a massive help.

For biology, it's almost purely memory. Maybe try and go over your notes after each lesson and as always, talk to your teacher, they might be able to help.

As for your parents, I don't know them but I'd suggest letting them know you are going to try and improve and not too worry to much (only if they'll react well, once again, I don't know them).

Hope this all helps. Feel free to reply or PM me for more help.

:smile: