The Student Room Group

Gap year or No?

Im in my third year of college now and im applying for engineering at some universities, and i have the most important exams in january so if i do well in them im already halfway there to university...the only thing is im getting really sick of doing work all the time as you can imagine its quite stressful finishing secondary school then already working your ass off again to go to university where they will be more workload but i suppose a lot better since its not 100% exam (well for engineering anyway)its 50% coursework and 50% exam but i just feel like i need a break from education its stressful i feel like i should spend some time looking at life at a whole perhaps doing something while im not in education. The thing is tho my parents REALLY want me to go to university so i dont know what to do really. My mind tells me i should just work hard and make it to university and just finish the degree but my other mind says im fed up of education (for now) and just need a break from things.

I would like to travel somewhere or live somewhere else (like america or australia) would be nice but i dont know hw i could go about getting there if i did decide to take a gap year..

I dont know tbh what are people's opinions??
If you want a break from education, then go for it. It will do you good in the long term. I'm sure your parents are capable of accepting that you will still go to university, just a year later.

I wrote a FAQ about getting work permits for Australia (it's really easy, they're called Working Holiday Visas) and the link is in my signature, so you might like to have a look at that.

PS are you from Bristol / nearby? Just because of the thread title ....
Reply 2
Original post by Origami Bullets
If you want a break from education, then go for it. It will do you good in the long term. I'm sure your parents are capable of accepting that you will still go to university, just a year later.