The Student Room Group

Acca accountancy

Hey guys,

I'm in my second year of a levels studying Maths, Economics and Chemistry.

Later on, I want to become an accountant, preferably a Chartered one.

If anyone wants to do accountancy and does not want to go to uni, a good option is to go the ACCA route. Its the route I'm taking on.

It's an approximately 2 and a half year route where you go to an accountancy college to do your exams. It consists of 14 exams and the end result is becoming a chartered accountant. So after my a levels, I will be going to an accountancy college and become chartered by the time I'm 20 :smile:

It's a quicker and much cheaper way of becoming a Chartered Accountant.

Let me know if anyone needs more information.

Thanks

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I'm actually going to put some more stuff into the mix.

In fact, you cannot complete your qualification in 2.5 years. You need three years (or 36 months) field experience. For ACCA you will need to complete the nine Essentials and at least four Options, however this does not necessarily need to be a full time position.

ACCA is not the only qualification - ACA and CIMA are equally good.

You do not have to go to any educational establishment - you can study all of these qualifications at home - many tuition providers allow distance learning (e.g. Kaplan) or you can simply buy the textbooks (either from establishments like Kaplan or the ones written by the institutes).

If you want a really cheap way of doing it, go to a company who will sponsor you through tuition and exams.

Let me know if you need any more information.
Reply 2
When I rang a few colleges to give me information on their courses they told me it's going to be 2.5 years. That's if I do 3 papers at a go.
My dads an accountant with his own firm so my target is to take over and manage the business and therefore I do not want to find a firm which will pay for my fees.