The Student Room Group

Do You Think University Prepares/Prepared You for Life?

I am a second-year student enrolled on a four-year-long course. I'm wondering from time to time whether my uni has been preparing me for job. I think that my work exprience showed me that I definitely learnt something useful in grammar and linguistic classes, but I feel that translation classes are not what translators' real job is.

I still have to compete more than a half of my degree, but the more I am at uni the more I realise how little I know about the world around me. I also guess I'll have to complete a postgraduate course in order to do the job I wnt to do.
Reply 1
It depends. For the people who work throughout it and get work experience etc then yes it does a bit more than for people who don't do that.
But to be honest I don't think it does at all. Most people who have recently graduated know nothing of the job market and think they'll walk right into a job. In some cases uni wraps people in cotton wool before releasing them into the harsh realities of life.
(Coming from a third year!)
Uni is a free ride for people with low IQ's, probably about 70-80% of students at Uni right now. We need a system that separates out people based on an intelligence at a certain age and says you have a low IQ you will do manual labour, and people with high IQ's will lead.
Lol no. It's basically a massive sixth form where you're allowed to drink and have sex if you pay them money and leave your parents. The people who treat it as higher education and really make the most of the experience find it easier later on (getting the highest degree they can achieve, taking on volunteer/paid responsibility at uni or working part time).

They find it easier not because their CV looks better, but because they can deal with failure and stress to accomplish their goals. They just have a higher tolerance for failure. That's pretty much it.
Reply 4