The Student Room Group

Canadian high school student looking into UK med schools

Hello, I am a Canadian high school student, resident of Malton with dual citizenship for both the United States and Canada. I'm looking to applying to med schools in the UK. I am currently in Grade 11.

Does anyone have any idea about Canadian to UK mark conversions? And what marks are needed for medical school? I understand that I have to write a personal statement and take a standarized exam such as the BMAT or UKMAT.

My marks are as follows:
-94 percent in Grade 11 Math
-96 percent in Grade 11 Chemistry
-98 percent in Grade 12 French
-100 percent in Grade 11 flexography
-A projected 95 percent in Grade 11 English
-A projected 98 percent in Grade 11 Physics
-A projected 98 percent in Grade 11 Biology
-A projected 100 percenti n Grade 11 Accounting

My extra-curriculars are as following:
-Next year's elected Student Council President, this year's Student Council Vice President
-4th year as a member of a club dedicated to hopeful doctors and health awareness
-Over 1000 volunteer hours from an aggregate of hospitals, medical clinics, multicultural councils and disease associations
-Royal Conservatory of Music piano (Grade 8)
-Fluent in American Sign Language
-Published author of a fiction novel

I'd love to hear all and any thoughts, suggestions and advice. Thank you all so much, honestly.
Reply 1
Wouldnt you have to study A-levels first? I dont know the Canadian equivalent of A-levels but I think you would do that first then go onto university... How old are you?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Original post by butterbar
Does anyone have any idea about Canadian to UK mark conversions? And what marks are needed for medical school? I understand that I have to write a personal statement and take a standarized exam such as the BMAT or UKMAT.

My marks are as follows:
-94 percent in Grade 11 Math
-96 percent in Grade 11 Chemistry
-98 percent in Grade 12 French