The Student Room Group

A level choices

Hi, I am currently studying my GCSEs and I am due to take them in summer (2013) however I need to have my A level choices in by halfway through feb. I want to be a vet, so need chemistry and maths and either biology or physics. However, if I was to take all 4 of these, would I be able to cope? Has anyone taken 3 sciences and maths? Will it be too much? Thanks in advance guys:smile:
Reply 1
Yes plenty of people cope with it and do well in all their exams. I do Maths Chemistry Physics and History (which a lot of people find harder than biology) and i'm doing fine. As long as you are organised and put the work in you shouldn't have any problems :smile:
Reply 2
Thanks:smile: Im considering not taking chemistry and taking history instead although this would mean i couldnt be a vet, so its tough :frown:
Reply 3
i wouldn't recommend history. I choses it cause i like the content but the essays have sucked all the enjoyment out of the subject.
Hi there, just saw this post and thought I might throw my own point in there. First of all, don't worry about workload, I take Biology, Chemistry, English Lit, and Psychology and I find the workload fine :smile: The key to success at A-Level is good time management and motivation! I also know people who do all 3 sciences and maths, about the same workload (but maths gets a bit loaded sometimes) but in terms of coping its perfectly possible, I initially did physics and switched to English Lit about 3 weeks in (wasn't really for me) but in terms of content I personally find chemistry really interesting. Just sat my Unit 1 exam on the OCR Salters B exam board and it went fine (hopefully! :eek:).