The Student Room Group

Ok so I think I've messed up my degree.

Ok, bit of background I'm and undergraduate in third year, my degree is weighted 25% second year 75% third year. It is my understanding that the lowest module is taken out and an average is then calculated. So when I did that I onlookers got 54% as I got mostly high 2:1s but two resists capped at 40%. Only one module back this year so far and got 72%. What are the chances of me getting a first overall, none? Also how hard would it be to get a 2:1, what do I need to be averaging? I think the resists have pretty much ruined it.
Reply 1
wrong forum?

And sorry I don't know what you would need to be resitting, I just thought I'd let you know you're in the wrong place, in the hope you find someone who does know!
(edited 11 years ago)
Not getting a 1 does not mean you have messed up your degree. A lot of people seem to think that getting a 1 is like getting an A or A* at A Level. It doesn't really work like that. Really if you were getting high 2:1s in your second year it was a bit naive to just assume that you would be able to pull a 1 out the bag in third year. If we're talking high 2:1s we're talking about the marks 67-69. If grade boundaries - well, 3, 2:2 and 2:1 - cover 10% each, if you think about it, the 1-3% you were off getting a 1 is actually quite significant and you would have to put some serious work in to get marks that would balance you out as 70% or more on average. A lot of people get very defensive about their degree classification and will say things like 'Oh well I was 1% off a 1 - I should have got a 1!' but if they were really to that standard they would have got it. It's not just a calculator that decides on your classification. Staff have a meeting to go over the results and classifications to make sure that they are fair and truly representative of the students in question.