The Student Room Group

how hard is an engineering degree really?

I've been having loads of 'why on earth do you want to be doing engineering?' converstaions recently, and being told it's such a heavy workloada nd now I'm really worried I won't be able to cope. I can't afford to drop out/change course or otherwise delay Uni and to be honest I'm really bricking it. any reassurance would be great

PS I'm planning on doing Civil Eng and am on a Gap Year at the minute, which is another worry, trying to get back into such a heavy work load after doing nothing adademic for so long :redface:
Reply 1
Medicine and Vetinary are worse. It takes getting used to but engineering isn't too bad, i'm satisfied knowing i am doing a degree that could get me a great career in civil, or if nothing else a very well respected, numerate degree.

Engineering graduates are in demand, and in some ways working hard is good. Some of my best mates at uni are on my course cause i spent so much time with them. Others do english etc, can hardly be expected to bond with their peers for the few hours a week they see them. and they often don't/.

I'm glad tbh....

One thing i strongly advise is you go over your a-level maths before going to uni, at least a week or two of proper revision. Revise mechanics and pure maths. This should sort you out and make it a lot easier to cope with your first couple of weeks. Less shock.

I knew a few gappers and they did have problems going back to academia, so its worth putting in a bit of effort beforehand.
Reply 2
It is a heavy workload and isn't easy. The reward (and the answer to all they questions about why anyone would want to do it) is all about job prospects and the demand you'll be in. What else had you considered? Engineering is the best :biggrin:
Reply 3
JitsuCol