The Student Room Group

bored-classes too easy

For the past 5+ years I have spent every maths class daydreaming and trying to imitate Vi Hart's doodling style. I had hoped lectures would get interesting when I started university, but after a whole semester nothing had changed, and I was never taught anything that I hadn't already learnt years ago, usually from the internet or a library book. I keep making stupid mistakes because I am rarely paying attention. I wish I could change to doing more difficult modules, but because it's my first year there is only one second year module that I'm allowed to do. I don't know how to speak to anyone about it; I have Asperger's and don't like talking face-to-face especially if it involves initiating a conversation, so what should I do?
Original post by gyudgyu
For the past 5+ years I have spent every maths class daydreaming and trying to imitate Vi Hart's doodling style. I had hoped lectures would get interesting when I started university, but after a whole semester nothing had changed, and I was never taught anything that I hadn't already learnt years ago, usually from the internet or a library book. I keep making stupid mistakes because I am rarely paying attention. I wish I could change to doing more difficult modules, but because it's my first year there is only one second year module that I'm allowed to do. I don't know how to speak to anyone about it; I have Asperger's and don't like talking face-to-face especially if it involves initiating a conversation, so what should I do?

Skip lectures

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by gyudgyu

Go to lectures from the year above you.
Original post by gyudgyu

Where do you study?
E-mail your advisor, I would also speak to your disability support people (you should be able to find an e-mail address for them on your uni website) if you have problems talking to people.