The Student Room Group

Which is better- St. Andrews or Durham?

Hey guys,
I'm an International student wanting to study English Literature at the undergraduate level this year. I got an offer from Durham and St Andrews. The problem is that I dont know which one is better! :/ HELP?

1) Which university is more student friendly?
2) Which is ranked higher? (there are sooo many league tables with different rankings, that it confuses me)
3) What is the Indian population like at both these universities?
4) Which English Dept./ course is better?

Thanks a ton.
Reply 1
Hello! I dont go to either university however last week I went and visited St Andrews, had a look around and I can tell you what my impressions were of it.. as for Durham, I have not been and so cannot really say.

1) I saw a lot of the students interacting really well, the people in St Andrews were all very friendly (people in Scotland are generally extremely friendly).
St Andrews IS basically a university campus and it has been for years and so the town are used to the students and welcome them!
2) Overall: (according to The Gaurdian) Durham places 7th in the UK whereas St Andrews places 4th
However, the course satisfaction rate in Durham is 91% and in St Andrews it is 94% and so evidently higher..
Teaching satisfaction: Durham: 94%, St Andrews 95%
3) I have no idea but to be honest I do not think it really matters.. Both universities have a lot of different nationalities
4) for English Literature Durham places third whereas St Andrews places 5th.

Both Universities have got a good reputation, Durham is part of the "Russel Group universities" (elite universities in the UK, the British version of Ivy League), St Andrews isnt part of it which I do not understand...........Overall both Universities will look impressive on your CV so go wherever you feel you will be happier :smile:
Good Luck with your decision and Congratulations on your offers! :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by Varya
Hey guys,